top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErika Janet

Hello Now by Jenny Valentine [Book Review]

Hello Now by Jenny Valentine is a queer love story following Jude, someone weighed down by his name, his mothers long list of failed relationships and their constant travelling about. Upon meeting handsome Novo, Jude’s life changes forever. This love story is utterly timeless and beautifully discusses second chances, and that young, innocent feeling of being in love.



I hadn’t heard much about this book, but I saw my library had it under queer books and thought, ‘why not?’ I hadn’t read a queer book in a while and it was only just under 200 pages. While I’m still not sure how I entirely feel about this book, I think I quite liked it – its simple and innocent and character-based, and leaves you with a warm feeling, as if I was 16 again and falling in love for the first time.

There were definitely some aspects which could have been better, for example, there was little explanation of what the magic and mysticism really was, which I think could have been rather interesting to read, however, hearing Jude’s perspective both before and after meeting Novo was so whimsical and beautiful that it just felt so lovely to read.


The author thoughtfully created a masterwork of a metaphor for what falling in love feels like, especially when it’s for the first time and you’re young and clueless about these things – it’s intense and passionate, you’re likely naïve and innocent, and then, often, you have to make a decision about whether this Now feels worth keeping forever. I thought this metaphor was brilliantly executed and I find it hard to imagine anyone will read this and not feel fuzzy inside – I, personally, was smiling throughout.


Overall, for a short, cosy queer novel I think it was quite good and did what it said on the tin at the end of the day. If you liked On Midnight Beach by Marie-Louise Fitzpatrick, then this might definitely be up your street!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page