top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErika Janet

Letters of Note: Love by Shaun Usher [Book Review]

Letters of Note: Love is a collection of love letters collected by Shaun Usher. The letters are written by people from across the world, writing from different centuries, all dealing with the subject of love – some romantic, some poetic, a couple intense and very passionate.



As someone who isn’t very romantic and doesn’t even read romance novels, I don’t even know why I was drawn to this! Maybe it was because it has that historical element and as a history student I thought I’d be interested? Who knows, but I’m glad I decided to listen to it! What a marvellous collection of love letters, all showing such intense emotion, discussions of financial issues and bride price, cheating, scandals, same-sex love and deep friendship, which all made it an absolutely gem to read.


I don’t really have much else to say, other than how beautiful this collection was, with Shaun himself narrating between each letter, giving context and adding so much more depth and complexity to the already complex letters. If you’re looking for an easy read that will leave you with tears in your eyes and laughing throughout, this book is one I’d recommend.


Rating:⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page