top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErika Janet

Mid-Year Freak Out Tag

THE QUESTIONS:


1. Best book you’ve read so far?

Mythos by Stephen Fry. What a book this was. As a Classics and Archaeology student, I was tingly throughout the entire book and the audio version just made the experience very real. Truly felt like Mr Fry was in my sitting room having a cuppa tea with me and explaining Greek mythology.


2. Best sequel you've read so far?


Technically I haven't read a sequel yet, but I read the first book in Everest Files by Matt Dickinson (hoping to read the second and third very soon) and was blown away by the writing and plot. Genuinely haven't stopped thinking about it since.


3. New release you haven't read yet, but want to.

It only came out today, but Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia just really caught my eye with a gorgeous cover and then lured me in with its historical fiction, mansion 1950s Mexican landscape. I cannot wait till I can read it!

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.



5. Biggest disappointment.

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami. As Murakami's biggest fan there is, and Norwegian Wood being one of his most talked about books and it being the first book I read in 2020, I was extremely disappointed. None of the characters were particularly likeable for a start as well as the odd placed sex scenes made the whole experience fairly dull and uncomfortable.



6. Biggest surprise.


My latest finish, The Sound of Waves by Yukio Mishima. The idea of reading a simple love story based in a remote village in Japan did not particular appeal to my senses, but I was surprised hooked from the first page and obsessed with the innocence of it all. Mishima's writing made the simplest of actions seem remarkable and every movement by the two lovers feel so raw and real and sensual as well as innocent and pure. I am definitely looking forward to reading more from Mishima this year.


7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

Probably will have to say Yukio Mishima again. He is the first author this year that after reading his book I had to immediately start planning what other books of his to read because I was so entranced with his writing style, pace and character expression.


8. Newest fictional crush.


After reading the 800 page novel in February, Jude from A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara has been my man crush and I would genuinely do anything to heal that character. While the book took quite the toll on my body, both because of its length and its content (trigger warns include rape, suicide, domestic abuse, self harm, abuse from religious figures, prostitution amongst other things), the character is so easy to love and want to hug (if he wanted, we love consent).

9. Newest favourite character.


Kami from The Everest Files by Matt Dickinson. This young boy trying to achieve one of his goals during the novel of climbing Mount Everest fills my heart with joy after every one of his acts of kindness, honesty and respect for nature, himself and the people around him. Overall just a really likeable character who brings a smile to your face with his ambition, determination and pride.


10. Book that made you cry.


Ladies and gentlemen, A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara. If you didn't cry during any of those 800 pages I would like to have a discussion with you and find out how you managed. I knew the exact pages that made certain people cry and I was prepared and still I cried oh so much.

11. Book that made you happy.

Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig. After owning this book for about 8 months and not reading it, I finally decided I was in the right head space to pick it up again and attempt it and I am so grateful I did. Haig beautifully and sometimes not-so-beautifully explains the real emotions, or lack of, that come with depression, anxiety, suicide, alcohol dependence and dealing with these conditions during what is seen as 'your best years'. At the end of it, I was left feeling contempt for having someone understand my mind and happy that I chose to stay alive.


12. Most beautiful book you've bought so far this year (or received)


The Sailor who Fell from Grace with the Sea by Yukio Mishima. Just quite nice and simple really (as well as most of my readings being on kindle and therefore not pretty).


13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page