top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErika Janet

The Cockroach by Ian McEwan [Book Review]

The Cockroach by Ian McEwan is a satirical nod to Kafka’s Metamorphosis about cockroaches who have body swapped with leading British politicians in a post Brexit environment. Though it’s a short story, it had me laughing a few times throughout and is filled with snarky but accurate remarks about the state of Britain currently.



If you know me, you should know that I don’t read blurbs, which admittedly did leave me being slightly confused in the first few pages but rolling with it was the best decision as I ended up actually being impacted by the plot. Because the book is so short, there’s only so much a blurb can say that doesn’t really give the whole book away, so I would advise just diving straight into it!


This book is very tongue and cheek regarding the state of modern Britain, criticising everything from media and political responses to naval events and the balance of needing to please your party and the public. Though I think McEwan could have been much more brutal because, let’s be real, the state of the country at the moment isn’t glamorous, the subtle cynicism throughout is probably enough to satisfy everyone.


There’s not much else to say about this book, and you can probably tell I’m on a McEwan high at the moment. Its only short so I would definitely recommend it to anyone who has a few hours to kill.


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page